Not this AGAIN

That’s what I started thinking less than two weeks into this experiment.  Riding the bus is EXHAUSTING.  I have no idea how people do it on a long-term basis.  And it has nothing to do with how nice the bus drivers are – because they are amazingly nice – it’s all about the amount of time it takes, and the challenges one encounters when relying on public transportation (or even her own feet, but I’ll save that for another blog).

What used to be a twelve minute trip has turned into a forty-five minute commute – and that’s just one way!  So I could sleep for a half hour longer – grade thirty minutes more worth of papers – exercise for that recommended thirty minutes a day (as opposed to the ten minutes of walking and thirty-five sitting on my butt in a bus).  And the timing of the buses…  If I miss one, I have to head the complete opposite direction to grab another – half an hour later.  So two measly minutes could result in my missing important meetings.

Not to mention the fact that unless I want to get to school with less than forty-five minutes to prepare before kids arrive, I don’t see my kids in the morning.  Ellie gets up about fifteen minutes before I leave, but all we have time to do is exchange hollered, “I love you!!”s and “Have a great day!”s. She is now responsible for getting her brother up and to the bus – something I know far too many of my students must also do.  Sure, it’s character and responsibility building — but it’s also exhausting and stressful, and takes away from these kids’ time to do what they need to do for themselves, whether that be last minute studying, basic hygiene, or just getting sufficient sleep.

The whole situation is stressful.  And I’ve only been here discussing the mornings.  Evenings are a whole different story!!

But I do need to give a shout out to the (majority of) bus drivers for RMTD.  I’ve discovered that they are as attentive as personal chauffeurs (and no, that is not hyperbole).  Someone looks like she might be running across the street, trying to catch the bus?  Mark will notice, motion to her, and stop, waiting for her to catch up.  No money? Bernard and Darrell both say they’ll still let someone ride with the expectation that they are paid back on the next trip.  I’m not yet on Rural Street to catch the 6:28 bus?  Bernard will wait a minute for me.

It’s that last fact that complicates my situation.  It sounds wonderful, and I admit that it is a huge relief to know that the one day when I was running late (literally – I ran – which almost gave me a heart attack) (again, not hyperbole) Bernard would have waited for a minute so I didn’t miss my bus.  But at the same time, it’s become another thing for me to worry about.  Even if I want to sleep a half hour longer, I don’t because Bernard still says I make his day, that it’s nice people like me who make all the difference, and he goes out of his way to walk me to the next bus and hug me goodbye when we get to the transfer center.  That day that I ran, I was seriously debating what to do — should I blow him off? (I really didn’t feel like this was an option.) Call RMTD and ask them to radio him so he would know I wouldn’t be on that bus?  Later he told me I could certainly do that — or he would give me his personal cell phone number so I could call him directly.  No – there was no underlying meaning in this offer; he simply wanted to help me out.  And I do not want to let him down or make him worry — and he would worry.

These bus drivers really look out for their passengers.

While on the morning bus, I’ve heard numerous conversations going back and forth over the radio regarding passengers who are looking for a particular bus, not necessarily in the right place, but the driver will swing back around to get them or make sure to be looking at a non-official stop location for someone.  These guys understand the plight of those who are reliant upon them.  They really take their jobs seriously; they are there to serve.

And yet, I’m exhausted.  I dread having to take a bus home at the end of the day.

I guess that’s still the part of me that is spoiled – used to simply jumping in my car and getting where I need to go in record time compared to what it takes via bus (yes, finally hyperbole).  People who regularly rely on the bus get used to it, as one of my students has said (not just in regard to the bus, but to the life-threatening situations she’s repeatedly been in thanks to the bad neighborhood in which her family lives).  But this seems to be a significant injustice – that some people in our society indulge in the great luxury of total transportational freedom while others spend their lives on the bus.  And trust me — when you are forced to ride the bus from Auburn to Washington and then back to the East side, it feels like you spend your entire life on that dang bus — and I’m barely on the East side!

I can’t grade on the bus.  I can hardly read on it!  So my job is suffering.  My kids are suffering – all 145 of them – because I’m suffering.

I know… in the grand scheme of things this is one of those situations where I should just put on my big girl pants and deal with it.  But my point is that it is wrong for anyone to be deprived of the modern conveniences the “haves” in this country take for granted.  And I’m realizing that the difference between the “haves” and the “have nots” lies far beyond the realm of mere materialistic possessions.

If I were to have to live in this situation, I would certainly dwell in my intentional, eternal optimism.  But for the sake of this experiment, I NEED to understand the emotional impact that relying on the bus has on people.  So once again I feel guilty, this time for simply griping.  But if I did not allow myself to acknowledge the downside, I would not understand the significant challenge others face.  Sheesh, even the word “significant” seems tame when you consider the mental/emotional impact of living like this.

And then there’s the physical… But I think I’ll save that for another blog.  I’ve got to jump in the shower before once again racing to the bus!

8 thoughts on “Not this AGAIN

  1. With this new way of transportation, everything seems to be dependent on a limited-time schedule. Even with the super nice bus drivers who care about you making the bus, if you were ever to miss it, it’d seriously mess up that schedule. As you said, this is a great contrast to what you (and other “privileged” Americans) are familiar with. In one sense, it makes me grateful that my family owns a car, and if I ever miss the school bus, my mom can drive me within 10 minutes and I’ll make it before the tardy bell. But, it also greatly points out the unfairness of the situation- that some people can hop in their car with time to spare, while others have no other choice but to be dependent on public transportation, which can take hours out of their day, making it far less productive. It makes me wonder, “How can anyone keep doing this? Wouldn’t you get fed up after a while, seeing how it not only affects you, but also the people who rely on you (kids, students, co-workers, etc.)?” But it’s the reality that, if you can’t afford a car, or for whatever reason do not have access to one, this is your quickest option.

  2. I can relate to this on a minimal scale by how often I stay after school. If I stay later than my normal bus I’ll have to find an alternative ride, right? So there are two activity or late bus times, 5:00 and 6:30. I’ve probably rode the normal bus 10 times the past month or two and hade to take the activity bus every time except for last week when my mom borrowed my grandmas car to come get me. Our car is stupid and can’t drive from East,basically where I live, to Auburn without something going wrong.And so she borrows my grandmas. The later activity bus only takes about a half an hour or less while the early bus once went for an hour; we went to Jefferson and New Mulford. I don’t know why but I hate riding either of the activity buses and walking home but that’s kind of obvious. But school has requirements and in this last quarter mostly, they invoked me having to stay after to meet the requirements. So again I can see where you and other people who have to go through this are coming from but on a smaller scale.

  3. Having to deal with being on a step by step time process just to make it to a bus has to take some strong ability and great time management. Myself personally, I have a hard time getting out of bed at 7am let alone get up as a early as 5 or 6 am just to get proper transportation to get a job or school. It shows that we have it pretty easy in life being able to have rides to places within 10-20minues instead of 45minute to a hour ride just to get to one destination for the day. The people that do have to deal with these everyday struggles I feel of sense of sympathy for, because i know its not an easy thing to do everyday. And there should be less challenges for them because they are trying.

  4. Do you think this experience has changed the way you feel think about the situation in rockford?
    And do you feel as though youve gained the knowledge that you hoped, in doing this experiment?

  5. Reading this makes me think to myself how blessed many of us are with having our own car as our daily method of transportation. Your frustration really exemplifies that this experiment is really becoming more authentic each day you take the bus. The suffering is getting to you. However, for you it’s only temporary. You’re handling it well, and all I can say is bravo Ms. Chidley.

    1. Blessed – spoiled – unfairly lucky… I don’t know. I do work hard for what I have, but I know a lot of people who work just as hard, whose lives are even harder, in fact, but who have so much less than I. I just don’t see why some people’s jobs are perceived as so much less valuable than others, so they’re paid less. I also don’t understand why pro athletes are rich while teachers struggle. But the fact is that we all have blessings and sufferings. I think the benefit to those who are used to it is just that: they ARE used to it. They’re not comparing it like I am because they have to accept their circumstances. But I still say that no one should have to settle for less than what the rest of us consider to be normal “rights” – like having and driving a car!

  6. The way you relate to the bus driver makes me think of how we relate to our teachers. Just like how they help out with the money fair or try to find you if you’re looking for a ride is the same as if the teachers came in the morning to help us with work or even stay after. Bus drivers and teachers don’t have to do this but they do it because they know how much somebody needs it, so they make time for it. A lot of people are thankful for that, I know I am.

  7. Reading this Article really makes me think twice again. How lucky I am to have a car again. The struggles one has to face while having the forced choice to take the bus. In like in my case not having the financial stand point to take bus back and forth to get where I needed to be was awful. I couldn’t imagine having to still do that on a day to day basis. Really also in the summer trying to get to auburn and back or even estate was HARD. 45 minutes to walk back from auburn to my house and it was hard and sort of scary. This just got me really thinking.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *